Skip the navigation
 

The Macroscopic World

High Plains

Skirt Zoomify

High plateau regions, like those in central South America and Tibet, are flanked by mountain peaks that are difficult to access and in effect, isolate their inhabitants. These regions have long sheltered societies of people who, while very different, share a sense of independence born of the ability to prosper in extreme conditions.

About the Object

Object name: Skirt (aksu)
Place made: Potolo, Chuquisaca, Bolivia
People: Jalq’a
Date made: 1987-1999
Dimensions: 63 x 43.5 cm
Materials & Techniques: Wool, warp-faced, complementary warp
Credit line: Gift of Declan Hill
ID: T00.14.2a

Jalq’a women weave skirts such as this aksu, which they wear arranged to the front, back or side and over another skirt. Aksu are woven using a dark, intensely figurative style which features mythical creatures called khurus. An ASUR tag identifies this aksu as a product of the ASUR cooperative.

Alternative Views

Back

Back

Oblique

Oblique

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Image

The Highland Region

The altiplano, or “high plain” in Spanish, is located in central South America where the Andes mountains are at their widest; it is the most extensive area of high plateau on earth outside of Tibet. Aridity and extreme temperatures make the altiplano a challenging place to call home; yet, it is home to a diverse variety of creatures. Indigenous inhabitants, such as the Jalq’a people, have used backstrap looms for millennia to weave the hair of llama and other roaming camelids into cloth for use as warm, sturdy garments. In the hot, humid Amazon rainforest to the east of the altiplano, such garments would be completely unsuitable.

The Altiplano in Bolivia

The Highland Region

Image title: The Altiplano in Bolivia
Credit: Image Courtesy of Phil Marion

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Slide Show

ASUR

ASUR (antropólogos del surandino), located in the southern Andes of Bolivia, is a foundation that carries out weaving projects among indigenous peasants. The success of ASUR, and projects such as the Jalq'a-Tarabuco textile program, rests in the combination of income generation with development of aesthetic creativity. All ASUR-tagged textiles are sold in the ethnographic textile museum shop in Sucre, Bolivia. Sixty per cent of the total sales are paid to the individual weaver, another portion covers the raw materials, taxes and other overhead, and a small part pays for training young weavers in the traditional crafts.

Macro

ASUR

Image title: Macro

Women at the textile art museum in Sucre, Bolivia

ASUR

Image title: Women at the textile art museum in Sucre, Bolivia
Credit: Image Courtesy of Ana Isabel Ramos

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Audio Clip

Khurus

Listen to TMC curator Roxane Shaughnessy talk about the khurus in this aksu. View the high contrast image to see the khurus more clearly.

Credit: Audio Produced by TMC

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Related Image

Khurus

Khurus

Image title: Khurus

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Transcript

An aksu made by the Jalq’a depicts the world of the ukhu pacha, a sacred place inside the earth where there is little contrast between light and dark. At the turn of the century, decorated areas of weaving were separated with solid coloured bands. The increase in the use of the whole field for pattern areas in recent years, such as this example, allowed the fluorescence of ideas which are expressed in the design, such as chaos and disorder, which fills the space. The disorder is realized through the lack of reference points, or absence of symmetry. Also, the way figures are not oriented toward any horizon. They are facing up and down and sideways. Such scenes are seemingly without light, as the Jalq'a attempt to represent a world ruled by the supay – the inspirational deity of Jalq'a designs. In this textile, and other similar ones, the scenes are populated by khurus: strange creatures that are undifferentiated by gender or species, and often portrayed as pregnant, with offspring that are completely different creatures. Landscapes of these grotesque khurus, which customarily inspire fear in the Jalq’a, are expressed and contained through the weaving of the aksu.

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Overskirt

Overskirt

ID*: T94.0945

Backstrap loom

Backstrap loom

ID*: T00.14.1

Coca bag

Coca bag

ID*: T83.0244

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde macroscopique

Hautes plaines

Jupe Agrandissez

Pour parvenir à la région des hauts plateaux, par exemple dans le centre de l’Amérique du Sud et au Tibet, il faut gravir des sommets difficiles d’accès qui ajoutent à l’isolement de leurs habitants. Bien que très différentes les unes des autres, les peuplades qu’abritent depuis longtemps ces régions éloignées ont en commun une autonomie née de l’instinct de survie dans des conditions extrêmes.

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Jupe (aksu)
Lieu de création: Potolo, Chuquisaca, Bolivie
Peuple : Jalq’a
Date de création : De 1987 à 1999
Dimensions : 63 cm sur 43,5
Matériaux & Techniques : Laine, effet chaîne, chaîne supplémentaire
Source : Don de Declan Hill
Numéro au catalogue : T00.14.2a

Chez les Jalq’as, les femmes portent des jupes tissées comme cet aksu, qu’elles nouent devant, derrière ou sur un côté, par-dessus une autre jupe. On reconnaît l’aksu à ses motifs figuratifs sombres où entrent en scène des créatures mythiques, les khurus. La présence de l’étiquette ASUR indique sa provenance de la coopérative du même nom.

Autres images

Dos

Dos

Transversalement

Transversalement

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Instantané

Les hautes terres

L’altiplano, ou « haute plaine » en français, se trouve au cœur de l’Amérique du Sud, où les Andes sont les plus étalées. Il s’agit du plus vaste plateau en altitude, outre les hautes terres du Tibet. La vie n’y est pas de tout repos en raison de l’aridité et des températures extrêmes, mais certains y ont pourtant élu domicile. Des peuples autochtones, comme les Jalq’as, utilisent des métiers à bras depuis des millénaires pour tisser le poil de lama et d’autres camélidés errants afin de fabriquer des vêtements chauds et résistants. Ceux-ci ne conviendraient nullement dans la chaude et humide forêt pluviale amazonienne à l’est de l’altiplano.

L'altiplano, ou haute plaine, en Bolivie

Les hautes terres

Titre : L'altiplano, ou haute plaine, en Bolivie
Source : Image offerte par Phil Marion

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Diaporama

ASUR

La fondation ASUR (antropólogos del surandino ou anthropologues du Sud andin), basée dans les Andes du sud de la Bolivie, met en œuvre des projets de tissage auprès de familles paysannes autochtones. Son succès, par exemple dans le cadre du programme textile Jalq’a-Tarabuco, réside dans sa capacité de générer des revenus tout en stimulant la créativité esthétique. Tous les textiles étiquetés « ASUR » sont vendus à la boutique du Musée textile ethnographique de Sucre, en Bolivie. Soixante pour cent du produit des ventes d’une pièce est remis à la tisserande elle-même, alors que le reste couvre les taxes, l’achat des matières premières et d’autres frais. Un petit montant est également alloué à la formation en artisanat traditionnel de jeunes tisserandes.

Gros plan

ASUR

Titre : Gros plan

Femmes au musée d'art textile de Sucre, en Bolivie

ASUR

Titre : Femmes au musée d'art textile de Sucre, en Bolivie
Source : Image offerte par Ana Isabel Ramos

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Bande sonore

Les khurus

Écoutez Roxane Shaughnessy, conservatrice du TMC, au sujet des khurus sur cet aksu. Voyez l'image avec un contraste élevé pour distinguer plus clairement les khurus.

Credit: Bande sonore produite par le TMC

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Image reliée

Les Khurus

Les khurus

Titre : Les Khurus

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Transcription

Comme en témoignent leurs aksus, les Jalq’as sont fascinés par l’ukhu pacha, lieu sacré où se confondent le jour et la nuit dans le noyau de la terre. Au début du siècle dernier, les aksus présentaient des zones tissées et ornées que séparaient de solides bandes colorées. La tendance accrue à utiliser toute la surface pour les motifs, apparue ces dernières années, a permis la manifestation d’idées inouïes au niveau du design, comme le concept du chaos pour combler le vide et celui du désordre, qui nous plonge dans un espace asymétrique marqué par l’absence de points de référence. Notons aussi l’orientation confuse des figures, exposées dans n’importe quel sens, vers le haut, le bas et les côtés, sans l’influence d’un horizon. Les Jalqu’as choisissent des motifs obscurs, qui semblent inaccessibles à la lumière, pour représenter un monde gouverné par le supay – la déité qui les inspire. Comme dans d’autres aksus semblables, la surface est peuplée de créatures étranges, les khurus, d’espèce et de sexe indéfinis. Souvent en état de grossesse, les khurus affichent une progéniture complètement différente d’eux. Le tissage particulier de l’aksu exprime et contient les paysages inquiétants dans lesquels khurus évoluent.

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Tablier pour jupe

Tablier pour jupe

ID*: T94.0945

Métier à bras

Métier à bras

ID*: T00.14.1

Sac à feuilles de coca

Sac à feuilles de coca

ID*: T83.0244