Skip the navigation
 

The Macroscopic World

Jungle

Shirt Zoomify

A jungle, or dense tropical forest, creates unique conditions for its inhabitants. For humans, life in a jungle can be extremely difficult. We even use the word “jungle” as a metaphor to describe a harsh environment such as a big city, because crime and brutality often make it a dangerous place to live.

About the Object

Object name: Shirt
Place made: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Africa
Date made: c.1980
Dimensions: 76 x 89 cm
Materials & Techniques: Cotton, printed
Credit line: Gift of Joan Dekaj
ID: T95.0031

This men’s shirt, factory printed and made of cotton, celebrates the 50th birthday of the despot Mobutu Sese Seko, who ruled the Democratic Republic of the Congo for 32 years. Although it may have been made in England, it features imagery that was tailor-made for the African market.

Alternative Views

Oblique

Oblique

Side

Side

Back

Back

Top

Top

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Image

The Jungle Region

Rainforests are sometimes referred to as “the lungs of the world” because of the abundance of plants, which convert carbon dioxide into oxygen. The trees in a rainforest form a dense canopy above the forest floor, making the environment below rather dark. Jungle is the name given to the forest just outside the canopy, where the growth is not as tall and consists of denser tangles of vines, shrubs and small trees. The Democratic Republic of the Congo has the second largest rainforest in the world after the Amazon.

Jungle Region in the Republic of Congo

The Jungle Region

Image title: Jungle Region in the Republic of Congo
Credit: Image Courtesy of Thomas Furst

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Artifact Narrative

African Wax Prints

Although much of European mass-produced cloth for African markets is called “wax print” (inspired by Javanese wax-batik cloth), the European cloth looks, and is made, quite differently. Javanese batik is made by hand, with hot wax applied to cotton to form a resist, whereas “wax print” involves printing liquid wax onto cotton with a roller and then dipping it into dye, or printing it with dye. In every case, the imagery is distinctively African, featuring portraits of leaders and slogans, or, as on this cloth from Nigeria, the commemoration of a significant event (Mobuto’s birthday). The shirt also has a small-patterned background reminiscent of the cracked-wax pattern of Javanese batik.

Commemorative cloth

Commemorative cloth

Place made: Nigeria, Africa
Date made: 1960
Dimensions: 145 x 112 cm
Materials & Techniques: Cotton, woven and printed
Credits: Gift of Barbara Barde
ID: T01X0025

Audio Clip

Mobutu Sese Seko

Listen to TMC curator Max Allen talk about Mobutu Sese Seko

Credit: Audio Produced by TMC

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Related Image

Mobutu Sese Seko

Mobutu Sese Seko


Description: Mobutu Sese Seko and Richard Nixon in Washington D.C., 1973

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Transcript

Here’s a shirt celebrating the fiftieth birthday of Mobutu Sese Seko. That’s his short name. His long name, which he gave himself in 1972, was Joseph-Désiré Mobutu Sese Seko Nkuku Ngbendu wa za Banga, which translates, ‘the all powerful warrior who because of his endurance and inflexible will to win goes from conquest to conquest leaving fire in his wake’. Mobutu left a lot of other things in his wake too, including a very large number of dead people and a huge fortune which he extracted from the people of Zaire; it was called Congo when Mobutu was in charge of it. Mobutu was well known world-wide, not only for his extraordinary wealth, he was one of the wealthiest men in the world at the time he was alive. He was also known in the West because he sponsored probably the most famous boxing match of all time. In 1974 the so called ‘Rumble in the Jungle’ was a fight between black American boxers, Muhammad Ali and George Foreman. It took place in Zaire at 5 o’clock in the morning so that it could be broadcast in American prime time television. Um, Mobutu financed the match himself, he said, with 10 million dollars. It was, of course, not his money, it was the people of Zaire’s money. But never mind, he took credit for it and he became extraordinarily popular. And so, in this shirt, nobody would have needed to have his name written on the shirt. It’s not there any place, you know, it just says “fiftieth birthday” because everybody around the world who mattered knew him by his portrait.

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Commemorative cloth

Commemorative cloth

ID*: T01X0010

Jacket

Jacket

ID*: T94.0176

Commemorative cloth

Commemorative cloth

ID*: 2007.33.1

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde macroscopique

Jungle

Tee-shirt Agrandissez

La jungle, cette dense forêt tropicale, se caractérise par des conditions de vie uniques. Il est très difficile d’y survivre si on appartient à la gent humaine. N’utilise-t-on pas le mot « jungle » pour décrire un milieu hostile où règne la loi des fauves, comme les grandes villes en proie à la criminalité et à la brutalité?

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Tee-shirt
Lieu de création: République démocratique du Congo, Afrique
Date de création : Vers 1980
Dimensions : 76 cm sur 89
Matériaux & Techniques : Coton, imprimé
Source : Don de Joan Dekaj
Numéro au catalogue : T95.0031

Ce tee-shirt en coton pour homme, fabriqué et imprimé en usine, commémore le 50e anniversaire du despote Mobutu Sese Seko, qui a gouverné la République démocratique du Congo pendant 32 ans. Bien qu’il puisse avoir été fait en Angleterre, il arbore un motif conçu sur mesure pour le marché africain.

Autres images

Transversalement

Transversalement

Côté

Côté

Dos

Dos

Haut

Haut

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Instantané

La jungle

On dit parfois des forêts pluviales qu’elles sont les « poumons de la planète » en raison de leur végétation abondante qui transforme le dioxyde de carbone en oxygène. Les arbres les composant forment un dense couvert assombrissant au-dessus du tapis forestier. La jungle est le nom donné à la forêt se trouvant à la frontière immédiate de ce couvert, où la végétation, pas aussi haute, consiste en un enchevêtrement de lianes, d’arbustes et de petits arbres. La République démocratique du Congo possède la deuxième plus vaste forêt pluviale au monde, après l’Amazonie.

Jungle dans la République du Congo

La jungle

Titre : Jungle dans la République du Congo
Source : Image offerte par Thomas Furst

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Objet

Les imprimés en cire africains

Si une part importante des étoffes fabriquées en série en Europe pour des marchés de masse africains sont appelées « imprimés à la cire », d’après le batik javanais, leur texture et leur conception sont en fait assez différentes. Le batik javanais, fait à la main, résulte de l’application de cire chaude à certains endroits d’une pièce de coton qui « résisteront » à la teinture, alors que l’« imprimé à la cire » suppose l’application de cire liquide à l’aide d’un rouleau sur une pièce de coton qui sera ensuite plongée dans un bain de teinture, ou imprimée avec de la teinture. Quoi qu’il en soit, l’imagerie est résolument africaine, mettant en vedette des leaders, des slogans ou, comme sur cette pièce du Nigeria, un événement important (anniversaire de Mobutu). L’œil attentif perçoit également de petits motifs en arrière-plan, qui évoquent le craquelé du batik javanais.

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

Lieu de création : Nigeria, Afrique
Date de création : 1960
Dimensions : 145 cm sur 112
Matériaux & Techniques : Coton, tissé et imprimé
Source : Don de Barbara Barde
Numéro au catalogue : T01X0025

Bande sonore

Mobutu Sese Seko

Écoutez Max Allen, conservateur du TMC, au sujet de Mobutu Sese Seko

Credit: Bande sonore produite par le TMC

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Image reliée

Mobutu Sese Seko

Mobutu Sese Seko


Description : Mobutu Sese Seko et Richard Nixon à Washington, D.C., en 1973

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Transcription

Ce t-shirt célèbre le 50e anniversaire de Mobutu Sese Seko – la version courte du nom de celui qui, en 1972, a décidé qu’il s’appellerait plutôt « Joseph-Désiré Mobutu Sese Seko Nkuku Ngbendu wa za Banga », qui signifie « le puissant guerrier qui, par sa persévérance et sa volonté inflexible de gagner, va d’une conquête à l’autre, le feu dans son sillage ». On se souviendra aussi de lui pour le nombre incommensurable de morts qui lui est imputable et son immense fortune, qu’il a prise au Zaïre, dit « Congo » sous son règne. Mobutu était connu partout dans le monde, non seulement parce qu’il était extraordinairement riche, l’un des plus riches du monde à son époque, mais aussi, plus particulièrement dans l’Ouest, parce qu’il avait parrainé l’un des combats de boxe les plus légendaires de l’histoire, en 1974, le « grabuge dans la jungle » opposant deux Afro-Américains, Mohammed Ali et George Forman. Se déroulant au Zaïre, le combat a débuté à 5 heures du matin pour être vu aux heures de grande écoute aux États-Unis. Mobutu l’avait financé lui-même pour la somme, disait-il, de 10 millions de dollars. En fait, l’argent ne lui appartenait pas, mais provenait du trésor national du Zaïre. Quoi qu’il en soit, Mobutu s’est attribué le mérite de l’événement et a ainsi vu tous les regards tournés vers lui. Aussi était-il superflu d’inscrire son nom sur ce t shirt, qui ne figure d’ailleurs nulle part. La mention « cinquantième anniversaire » suffit, car tous les grands du monde reconnaissaient son portrait.

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

ID*: T01X0010

Veste

Veste

ID*: T94.0176

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

Pièce d’étoffe commémorative

ID*: 2007.33.1