Skip the navigation
 

The Fabricated World

Play

Wall hanging Zoomify

In its widest interpretation, the phenomenon of “play” – whether alone or as part of a group – expresses everything that makes life enjoyable. Played activities such as sports contain patterned elements in the form of rules and prescribed actions, which link sports to other forms of human expression such as mathematics and art.

About the Object

Object name: Wall hanging
Place made: Canada
Date made: 1940 - 1950
Dimensions: 90 x 65 cm
Materials & Techniques: Synthetic fibre, jacquard-woven
Credit line: Textile Museum of Canada
ID: T2006X0146

A lone hockey player skates toward the viewer in this enigmatic portrait. The location is impossible to identify except for the ghostly light stands and banked seats that place the scene in an arena. The anonymous player is decked out in full team gear with the word “Canada” on his jersey.

Alternative Views

Back

Back

Oblique

Oblique

Back Oblique

Back Oblique

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Microscopic Views

Microscopic Views


Description: A microscopic view at 3x magnification
Credit: Macrography Courtesy of Sandra Webster-Cook of the AGO

Microscopic Views

Microscopic Views


Description: A microscopic view at 12.5x magnification
Credit: Macrography Courtesy of Sandra Webster-Cook of the AGO

Microscopic Views

Microscopic Views


Description: A microscopic view at 20x magnification
Credit: Macrography Courtesy of Sandra Webster-Cook of the AGO

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Audio Clip

The Hockey Sweater

Listen to Hockey Hall of Fame curator Philip Pritchard talk about the hockey sweater.

Credit: Audio produced by TMC

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Transcript

The game was traditionally played outdoors. So, obviously, because the games were outdoors on natural rinks, the equipment and the jerseys had to…work towards the player’s advantage so, for the jersey it’d be warm so it’d be wool, the equipment would be lighter. As time went on, hockey became an indoor sport and artificial rinks were being made, so the jersey altered as well. So did the equipment. The jerseys no longer had to be pure wool, they could be a combination of, of wool and poly and cotton. And in today’s game where there’s the whites of the ice, there’s the television lights, and there’s up to 20 000 plus seats being filled by people in the game, we have a natural warmth created by everyone. So in today’s environment the jersey is 100% polyester and it’s tied in with the new air…air dry jersey so when a player is playing, although they have the t.v. lights on them and everything, their sweat absorbs instantly. And in today’s technology that’s what a jersey is needed for a player to play at this caliber. So, as you’ve seen over a hundred years the jerseys have altered a lot, but it’s all because of the way the game has altered as well.

Video

Hockey’s place in winter

Watch a video of children playing hockey on an outdoor rink in Canada in the 1940s.

Credit: Video Courtesy of National Film Board of Canada

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Artifact Narrative

Jacquard portraits

Before the invention of the jacquard loom, very little cloth with figurative imagery was woven. Tapestry and drawloom-made brocade – the only woven structures capable of producing a recognizable image – were rare because of the time required to make them. In 1804, French inventor Joseph Marie Jacquard introduced the loom that still bears his name. Although other inventors laid the groundwork for Jacquard, it was his loom that mechanized the operation of lifting and lowering warp threads by means of a machine with perforated cards. The jacquard loom has been called the ancestor of the first computers, which also used perforated cards to create instructions in binary code.

Portrait

Portrait

Place made: Lyon, France
Date made: 1849-1852
Dimensions: 28 x 27 cm
Materials & Techniques: Silk, jacquard-woven
Credits: Gift of John and Gisela Sommer
ID: T01.4.1

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Portrait

Portrait

ID*: T01.4.2

Picture

Picture

ID*: T95.0273

Portrait

Portrait

ID*: T2005.28.1

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde fabriqué

Jeux

Tenture murale Agrandissez

Vu sous son angle le plus vaste, le phénomène du « jeu » – solitaire ou collectif – englobe tout ce qui rend la vie plus jouissive. Les activités auxquelles on joue, notamment les sports, contiennent des éléments codés sous la forme de règles et de gestes, qui les relient à d’autres formes d’expression humaines, comme les mathématiques et les arts.

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Tenture murale
Lieu de création: Canada
Date de création : De 1940 à 1950
Dimensions : 90 cm sur 65
Matériaux & Techniques : Fibre synthétique, tissage jacquard
Source : Textile Museum of Canada
Numéro au catalogue : T2006X0146

Un hockeyeur solitaire s’élance vers l’observateur dans ce portrait énigmatique. Le lieu est impossible à identifier, sauf pour la lumière blafarde et les sièges disposés par étages, qui campent la scène dans une aréna. Arborant le mot « Canada » sur son maillot, l’homme est représenté avec tout son uniforme au grand complet.

Autres images

Dos

Dos

Transversalement

Transversalement

Dos transversalement

Dos transversalement

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

Vue microscopique

Vue microscopique


Description : Vue microscopique après trois grossissements
Source : Macrographie offerte par Sandra Webster-Cook, du Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario

Vue microscopique

Vue microscopique


Description : Vue microscopique après 12,5 grossissements
Source : Macrographie offerte par Sandra Webster-Cook, du Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario

Vue microscopique

Vue microscopique


Description : Vue microscopique après 20 grossissements
Source : Macrographie offerte par Sandra Webster-Cook, du Musée des beaux-arts de l'Ontario

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Bande sonore

Le maillot de hockey

Écoutez Philip Pritchard, conservateur du Temple de la renommée du hockey, au sujet du maillot de hockey.

Credit: Bande sonore produite par le TMC

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Transcription

Traditionnellement, les parties de hockey avaient lieu dehors. Alors, évidemment, comme on jouait sur des patinoires naturelles, il fallait que l’équipement et les maillots jouent aussi…en faveur du hockeyeur. Idéalement, il fallait un maillot chaud, donc en laine, et un équipement léger. Au fil des ans, les matchs ont cependant fini par être disputés à l’intérieur. Sont apparus, en même temps que les patinoires artificielles, des maillots plus légers et un équipement différent. Les maillots en pure laine ont peu à peu cédé leur place à d’autres qui combinaient la laine, le polyester et le coton, jusqu’à ce que le blanc de la glace, la lumière des caméras et la chaleur humaine dégagée par plus de 20 000 spectateurs autour de la patinoire créent une chaleur naturelle. Nous ne voyons plus maintenant que des maillots conçus dans un polyester à 100 %, qui sèche à l’air ambiant, si bien que, malgré les spots des projecteurs et tout le reste, la sueur est instantanément absorbée pendant le jeu. Voilà les maillots technologiquement perfectionnés qu’arborent maintenant les hockeyeurs. Si le maillot a tant évolué en cent ans, c’est parce que le hockey n’est plus tout à fait le même non plus.

Vidéo

Le hockey dans la représentation de l’hiver

Regardez une vidéo dans laquelle des enfants jouent au hockey sur une patinoire extérieure au Canada, dans les années 1940.

Credit: Vidéo offerte par l'Office national du film du Canada

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Objet

Le métier Jacquard

Rarement pouvait-on voir des images figuratives tissées avant l’invention du métier Jacquard. La tapisserie et le brocart façonné avec un métier à la tire – les seules formes de tissage montrant des images reconnaissables – exigeaient tellement de temps que les tisserands se lançaient rarement dans l’aventure. En 1804, l’inventeur français Joseph-Marie Jacquard lança un métier qui porte toujours son nom. S’il eut des précurseurs, ce métier est celui associé à la mécanisation d’un procédé permettant de lever et de baisser les fils de chaîne au moyen de cartes perforées. On dit du métier Jacquard qu’il est l’ancêtre des premiers ordinateurs, qui utilisaient aussi des cartes perforées pour créer des directives selon un code binaire.

Portrait

Portrait

Lieu de création : Lyon, France
Date de création : De 1849 à 1852
Dimensions : 28 cm sur 27
Matériaux & Techniques : Soie, tissage jacquard
Source : Don de John et de Gisela Sommer
Numéro au catalogue : T01.4.1

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Portrait

Portrait

ID*: T01.4.2

Image

Image

ID*: T95.0273

Portrait

Portrait

ID*: T2005.28.1