Skip the navigation
 

The Patterned World

Emphasis

Rug Zoomify

On a textile picture plane, several devices point the way to the important elements of the story. A border acts as a frame that encloses the action and focuses the viewer’s vision. Within the frame, certain elements may be disproportionate to others in an attempt to express different meanings. Qualities such as colour contrast also highlight the message or story that the textile is trying to convey.

About the Object

Object name: Rug
Place made: Afghanistan
Date made: 1990-2007
Dimensions: 72 x 96 cm
Materials & Techniques: Wool and cotton, woven in knotted pile
Credit line: Gift of Max Allen
ID: T2008.1.56

This rug from Afghanistan depicts four land-mine victims – three adults and one child – with their arms and legs destroyed, displayed against a blood-red map of Afghanistan. This rug, and many just like it, emerged from a part of the world that has experienced catastrophic war since the Soviet invasion of 1979.

Alternative Views

Back

Back

Oblique

Oblique

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Image

Carpet Beetles

Some of the worst damage a textile can sustain is caused by insects such as the dermestid beetle, or carpet beetle. The damage inflicted by the larvae (not the adult) is not reversible – once the wool is eaten, it is gone. In a home, an infested textile can be vacuumed and put into a freezer for a few weeks, but an institution with a large collection has a more serious problem. Dermestid beetles can easily become dormant at the egg or larval stage and reactivate when conditions improve. Certain varieties play an important environmental role: they feed upon carrion (dead flesh) and are thus responsible for huge quantities of natural cleanup.

Carpet Beetle Larva

Carpet Beetles

Image title: Carpet Beetle Larva
Credit: Image Courtesy of Albert de Wilde

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Audio Clip

The Message in the Carpet

Listen to Max Allen talk about Afghan war rugs

Credit: Audio Produced by TMC

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Transcript

This rug is kind of a television documentary of landmines in Afghanistan. It, like a television documentary, it shows what happens. The red figure is a map of Afghanistan and on top of that map there are four people and a big helicopter. Each of the people, you’ll notice, has been injured in some way. Either they’ve lost an arm, or a leg, or a foot, or something and all of that is a result of having stepped on or handled landmines which the Soviets dropped by the millions during their occupation of Afghanistan from 1979 to 1989. They dropped the landmines mostly from helicopters and that’s why there’s a big helicopter in the middle of this scene. So, what’s the message of this rug? Mostly the rug is just a report. Somebody’s family probably was injured by landmines and they simply wanted you to know that. Whether…which side of the war it’s on is an open question. Is it pro war or anti war? I would say anti war because injury is shown here. The misery and the horror of war are visible in this rug.

Artifact Narrative

Changing Scales for Emphasis

On this embroidered cover, two hands symbolizing “Hand of Fatima” (the daughter of Mohammed) are raised to shield a building, perhaps a mosque. The size of the hands is much larger than the pieces of architecture, emphasizing their symbolic importance as protection. Emphasis in a design is achieved through placement, contrast or size, and always marks a special attention or importance given to an element in an artwork. On the Afghan war rug, the people are the emphasis – their size dwarfs not only the helicopters, but the entire map of the country.

Cover

Cover

Place made: Afghanistan
Date made: 1950-1980
Dimensions: 40 x 43 cm
Materials & Techniques: Cotton and silk, plain woven and embroidered
Credits: Gift of Max Allen
ID: T04.2.1

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Rug

Rug

ID*: T2008.1.10

Rug

Rug

ID*: T2008.1.13

Rug

Rug

ID*: T2008.1.66

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde des motifs

Force expressive

Tapis Agrandissez

Sur un plan pictorial textile, plusieurs procédés permettent de mettre l’accent sur les éléments fondamentaux du récit. Ainsi, la bordure agit comme un cadre circonscrivant l’action et centrant l’attention de l’observateur. À l’intérieur, certains éléments peuvent occuper une place disproportionnée, stratégique pour exprimer des messages particuliers. Certains effets, comme le contraste des couleurs, font aussi ressortir le sens ou le message que tente de transmettre le créateur d’une pièce textile.

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Tapis
Lieu de création: Afghanistan
Date de création : De 1990 à 2007
Dimensions : 72 cm sur 96
Matériaux & Techniques : Laine et coton, tissés à points noués
Source : Don de Max Allen
Numéro au catalogue : T2008.1.56

Ce tapis d’Afghanistan montre quatre victimes des mines terrestres – trois adultes et un enfant –, estropiés d’un bras ou d’une jambe, avec la carte du pays de couleur rouge sang comme toile de fond. À l’instar de nombreux autres, ce tapis provient d’une région du monde éprouvée par des guerres dévastatrices depuis l’invasion soviétique, en 1979.

Autres images

Dos

Dos

Transversalement

Transversalement

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Instantané

L’anthrènedes tapis

Certains insectes, comme les dermestidés – famille à laquelle appartient l’anthrène des tapis –, sont responsables des pires dégâts sur les textiles. La détérioration imputable à la larve (et non à l’adulte) est irréversible, car, une fois mangée, la laine est disparue. S’il est possible, à la maison, de passer l’aspirateur et de mettre les textiles infestés au congélateur quelques semaines, les choses ne sont pas aussi simples dans les musées dotés de vastes collections. Les dermestidés peuvent facilement vivre dans un état latent au stade d’œuf ou larvaire, et voir leur organisme se réactiver lorsque les conditions s’améliorent. Quelques espèces jouent un rôle clé sur le plan environnemental en se nourrissant de charogne et en nous débarrassant naturellement d’immenses quantités de déchets.

Larve de l'anthrène des tapis

L’anthrènedes tapis

Titre : Larve de l'anthrène des tapis
Source : Image offerte par Albert de Wilde

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Bande sonore

Le message du tapis

Écoutez Max Allen au sujet des tapis de guerre afghans

Credit: Bande sonore produite par le TMC

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Transcription

Ce tapis est un peu comme un documentaire télévisé sur les mines terrestres en Afghanistan : il montre ce qui se passe. En rouge, la carte de l’Afghanistan et, sur celle-ci, quatre personnes et un gros hélicoptère. Vous remarquerez que chaque personne a été blessée d’une manière ou d’une autre. Perte d’un bras, d’une jambe, d’un pied, pour avoir marché sur des mines terrestres ou avoir manipulé l’un des millions d’explosifs jetés par les Soviétiques de 1979 à 1989, pendant l’invasion de l’Afghanistan. La plupart des explosifs ont été lancés par hélicoptère, d’où la présence imposante d’un tel engin au milieu de la scène. Alors, quel est le message? Le tapis fait surtout un compte rendu. Les membres d’une famille ont probablement été blessés après la déflagration de mines terrestres, et la famille que vous le sachiez. Il reste à trouver la position défendue : pour ou contre la guerre? Je dirais contre, à cause des blessures montrées. La misère et l’horreur sont bien visibles sur ce tapis.

Objet

La force expressive des variations d’échelle

Sur cette housse brodée, deux mains évoquant celles de Fatima, la fille de Mahomet, s’élèvent pour protéger un bâtiment, peut-être une mosquée. En faisant les mains beaucoup plus grandes que les éléments architecturaux, le créateur a mis en relief leur pouvoir de protection symbolique. Un motif doit sa force expressive à l’emplacement des objets, aux contrastes ou aux dimensions qui marquent l’importance particulière d’un élément dans l’œuvre d’art. Sur le tapis de guerre afghan, les personnages attirent toute l’attention – leur taille éclipse non seulement les hélicoptères, mais la carte entière du pays.

Housse

Housse

Lieu de création : Afghanistan
Date de création : De 1950 à 1980
Dimensions : 40 cm sur 43
Matériaux & Techniques : Coton et soie, armure unie, brodés
Source : Don de Max Allen
Numéro au catalogue : T04.2.1

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Tapis

Tapis

ID*: T2008.1.10

Tapis

Tapis

ID*: T2008.1.13

Tapis

Tapis

ID*: T2008.1.66