Skip the navigation
 

The Patterned World

Abstraction

Hooked rug Zoomify

Artists, designers and other makers of textiles portray reality according to principles of design, though there is always some degree of abstraction. The maker envisions a scene or object and transforms it into a series of stitches, interlaced threads, or marks of wax or paint on cloth, sometimes losing much of the resemblance to the original idea in the process.

About the Object

Object name: Hooked rug
Maker: Grenfell Mission
Place made: Newfoundland
Date made: 1910-1920
Dimensions: 48 x 90 cm
Materials & Techniques: Wool, cotton, burlap, hooked
Credit line: Gift of J.P. Stanley
ID: T00.12.1

Hooked mats such as this one were made during the late 19th and early 20th centuries by women in rural Newfoundland and Labrador. These mats were originally made for family use, but many became well-known works of Dr. Wilfred Grenfell’s cottage industry project – Grenfell Mission – established to support impoverished communities.

Alternative Views

Back

Back

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Macro

Macro

Macro

Macro

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Image

The Imagery

The hooked mats of Newfoundland and Labrador were originally completed according to patterns stamped on pieces of burlap and sold to local women as early as 1870. Hooked mats were the only floor coverings in coastal homes (men often used the rugs as targets for spitting). Artist Jessie Luther came to the Canadian Northeast in 1906 and was a key figure in the establishment of the crafts industry, though her designs were not as popular as those of Dr. Grenfell. Grenfell drew scenes of everyday life, where travel by dogsled was the only option in winter, and his designs were used almost exclusively in the early years of the cottage industry.

MP-0000.635.5 Snow hut at Nain, Labrador Coast, NF, about 1885

The Imagery

Image title: MP-0000.635.5 Snow hut at Nain, Labrador Coast, NF, about 1885
Credit: Image Courtesy of the McCord Museum

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Video

Designing for the Grid

Watch how a linear drawing of a flower is transformed into a textile design using a grid of squares. This type of grid can be used to build patterns on any textile whether knitted, woven, hooked or beaded.

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Artifact Narrative

Perspective in Textile Art

Perspective on a picture plane creates the illusion of depth, but most textiles (with the exception of a hooked mat such as this one) have patterns on their surfaces that do not use perspective at all. The maker of this mat used converging lines of colours that are brighter in the foreground, as well as overlapping elements, to convey the impression of a real-life scene. Every textile is a three-dimensional object made of interlaced elements, but its dimensionality is often overlooked since textiles present a flat surface to the viewer.

Hooked rug

Hooked rug

Place made: Quebec
Date made: 1941
Dimensions: 84 x 86 cm
Materials & Techniques: Burlap, wool, hooked
Credits: Gift of Miriam Waddington
ID: T91.0380

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Chair cover

Chair cover

ID*: T02.46.1

Hooked rug

Hooked rug

ID*: T01.37.1

Hooked Rug

Hooked Rug

ID*: T78.0006a

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde des motifs

Abstraction

Tapis crocheté Agrandissez

Les artistes et créateurs textiles présentent la réalité selon les principes du design, même s’il existe toujours un degré d’abstraction. Ils imaginent des scènes et des objets et les reproduisent au moyen d’une série de points, de fils entrelacés ou de marques de cire ou de peinture sur du tissu – processus pendant lequel la ressemblance avec l’idée d’origine s’estompe parfois beaucoup.

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Tapis crocheté
Créateur : Artisanes de la Mission Grenfell
Lieu de création: Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Date de création : De 1910 à 1920
Dimensions : 48 cm sur 90
Matériaux & Techniques : Laine et coton, crochetés sur de la toile de jute
Source : Don de J.P. Stanley
Numéro au catalogue : T00.12.1

Les tapis crochetés comme celui-ci étaient l’œuvre de femmes du Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador rural à la fin du XIXe et au début du XXe siècles. S’ils étaient d’abord destinés aux familles, bon nombre d’entre eux sont devenus des œuvres réputées dans le cadre d’un projet établi par le Dr Wilfred Grenfell pour mettre en valeur l’industrie artisanale afin d’aider les communautés démunies : la Mission Grenfell.

Autres images

Dos

Dos

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

Gros plan

Gros plan

Gros plan

Gros plan

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Instantané

L’imagerie

Les tapis crochetés de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador étaient d’abord réalisés d’après des dessins estampés sur des morceaux de jute et vendus à des artisanes locales, et ce, dès 1870. Ces tapis, que les hommes visaient souvent lorsqu’ils crachaient, ont longtemps constitué les seuls revêtements de sol des maisons côtières. Débarquée dans le Nord-Est canadien en 1906, l’artiste Jessie Luther a joué un rôle clé dans l’essor de l’industrie artisanale, bien que ses motifs n’aient pas été aussi populaires que ceux du Dr Grenfell, pratiquement les seuls utilisés au début. Le Dr Grenfell dessinait des scènes de la vie quotidienne, entre autres les déplacements hivernaux uniquement possibles à bord de traîneaux tirés par des chiens.

MP-0000.635.5 Hutte de neige à Nain, côte du Labrador, à T.-N.L., vers 1885

L’imagerie

Titre : MP-0000.635.5 Hutte de neige à Nain, côte du Labrador, à T.-N.L., vers 1885
Source : Image offerte par the McCord Museum

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vidéo

Les grilles à dessins

Assistez à la transformation d’un dessin linéaire – une fleur – en motif textile sur une grille composée de carrés. Ce type de grille peut servir à la conception de motifs sur toute pièce textile, qu’elle soit tricotée, tissée, crochetée ou perlée.

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Objet

La perspective dans l’art textile

Si la perspective crée une illusion de profondeur sur un plan pictorial, la plupart des textiles présentent des motifs où n’interviennent nullement de tels effets visuels. Les tapis crochetés comme celui-ci font exception. On remarque sur ce tapis crocheté des lignes convergentes aux couleurs plus vives au premier plan ainsi que divers éléments se chevauchant pour produire l’impression d’une scène de la vie quotidienne. Chaque pièce textile est un objet tridimensionnel composé d’éléments entrelacés, mais sa dimensionnalité passe souvent inaperçue à cause de la surface plane qu’elle montre à l’observateur.

Tapis crocheté

Tapis crocheté

Lieu de création : Québec
Date de création : 1941
Dimensions : 84 cm sur 86
Matériaux & Techniques : Laine, crochetée sur de la toile de jute
Source : Don de Miriam Waddington
Numéro au catalogue : T91.0380

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Dessus de chaise

Dessus de chaise

ID*: T02.46.1

Tapis crocheté

Tapis crocheté

ID*: T01.37.1

Tapis crocheté

Tapis crocheté

ID*: T78.0006a