Skip the navigation
 

The Invisible World

Mythical Beings

Wall hanging Zoomify

The invisible world is teeming with characters that inhabit myths and epic tales. These characters are often idealized versions of humans, combining human with animal traits to create heroes and villains with supernatural powers. Such archetypal beings are celebrated in stories, song cycles and works of visual art, as well as on textiles, jewellery and other forms of embellishment.

About the Object

Object name: Wall hanging
Maker: F. Agus Mudjono
Place made: Yogyakarta, Java
Date made: c. 1976
Dimensions: L 120 cm x W 90 cm
Materials & Techniques: Cotton, woven, batik
Credit line: Gift of Max Allen
ID: T2009.1.97

The artist created this batik cloth as a textile painting while following the traditional batik method of Java. The figures depict an episode of the Hindu epic the Ramayana, in which Hanuman offers Sita her husband Rama's wedding ring to identify himself.

Alternative Views

Back

Back

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Second Look

Macro

Macro

Backlit

Backlit

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Touchpoint View

Animation

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Note: clicking a link will load a movie into a media player.

Video

Ketjak: the Ramayana Monkey Chant

The ketjak is a chant that dramatizes an episode in the Ramayana epic. In that episode, the performers chant the syllable tjak (in imitation of monkey sounds) as the monkeys come to the aid of Prince Rama in his battle with the evil King Ravana.

Credit: Video Produced by Horace Long

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Video

How It Is Made: Batik

To create batik, hot wax is painted on cloth using a tjanting (a pen-like applicator) or stamped with a printing block called a tjap, before being dipped in vats of cool dye. Wax resists the dye in the patterned areas. The wax is then scraped off and reapplied to other areas of the cloth, which is dyed again. The spidery pattern in the background of this hanging is caused by the dye penetrating the cracks in the wax. To achieve this effect, the artist used a wax with a higher concentration of paraffin, because paraffin is more brittle and cracks more easily than beeswax.

Credit: Video Courtesy of Indonesian Consulate of Toronto. Batik Winotosastro, Indonesia.

You must enable javascript and have Flash Player 9 installed to view this content.

Slide Show

Hanuman

Hanuman is a character in the great Hindu epic, the Ramayana, in which he plays the role of trickster and merry adventurer. He is a Vanara – part monkey, part deity – born of a monkey princess and Vayu, the Hindu wind god. Hanuman takes his white colour from langur monkeys, which live in the foothills of the Himalayas. Langur monkeys have whitish-grey fur and a black face; in Indian mythology, this is because Hanuman burned his hands and face trying to rescue Lord Rama's wife Sita from Ravana, the demon king.

Langur Monkeys

Hanuman

Image title: Langur Monkeys
Credit: Image Courtesy of McKay Savage

Ramayana

Hanuman

Image title: Ramayana
Description: Rama defeats the ten-headed demon Ravana
Credit: ©The Trustees of the British Museum

Note: clicking a thumbnail image will open a high-resolution version.

Collection Connections

Note: links will open in new browser windows.

Wall hanging

Wall hanging

ID*: T84.0072

Tenture murale

Wall hanging

ID*: T84.0040

Head cloth (kain kepala)

Head cloth (kain kepala)

ID*: T95.0041

Sauter la navigation
 

Monde invisible

Êtres mythiques

Tenture murale Agrandissez

Le monde invisible grouille de créatures inspirant les mythes et les récits épiques. Représentations souvent idéalisées de simples mortels, ces créatures combinent des traits humains et animaux et deviennent ainsi des héros et des méchants dotés de pouvoirs surnaturels. Ces archétypes sont célébrés dans les contes, les paroles de chansons et les œuvres d’art – comme les textiles, les bijoux et d’autres pièces ornementales.

À propos de cet objet

Nom de l'objet : Tenture murale
Créateur : F. Agus Mudjono
Lieu de création: Yogyakarta, Java
Date de création : Vers 1976
Dimensions : 120 cm sur 90
Matériaux & Techniques : Coton, tissé et teint (batik)
Source : Don de Max Allen
Numéro au catalogue : T2009.1.97

L’artiste a opté pour la peinture textile selon la technique traditionnelle du batik, de Java, pour représenter un extrait d’une épopée hindoue, Ramayana. On y voit Hanuman offrir à Sita l’alliance de son époux, Rama, pour s’identifier.

Autres images

Dos

Dos

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Autres perspectives

Gros plan

Gros plan

À éclairage arrière

À éclairage arrière

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Vue Touchpoint

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Nota : La version 9 ou une version plus avancée de Flash Player est requise.

Vidéo

Ketjak : le chant du singe Ramayana

Le ketjak est un chant qui évoque avec théâtralité un extrait de l’épopée Ramayana. Dans cet épisode, le chœur répète la syllabe tjak, imitant les bruits des singes qui volent au secours du prince Rama dans sa lutte contre le vil roi Ravana.

Credit: Vidéo produite par Horace Long

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Vidéo

Mode de fabrication: batik

La conception du batik commence avec la réalisation de motifs à la cire chaude à l’aide d’un tjanting (applicateur de la forme d’un stylo), ou encore par la pression d’un bloc enduit de cire, appelé tjap, sur une pièce d’étoffe qui sera ensuite plongée dans un bain de teinture tiède. La cire résistera à la teinture dans les zones à motifs. Il suffira ensuite de la gratter et de répéter l’exercice. Le dessin en forme d’araignée au dos de cette tenture est apparu au moment de la pénétration de la teinture dans les craquelures de la surface cirée. Pour obtenir cet effet, l’artiste a utilisé une cire à concentration plus élevée de paraffine. Plus « cassante », la paraffine se fissure plus facilement que la cire d’abeille.

Credit: Vidéo offerte par le consulat indonésien de Toronto. Batik Winotosastro, Indonésie.

Pour voir ce contenu, vous devez permettre Javascript et avoir Flash Player 9.

Diaporama

Hanuman

Hanuman est un personnage de la grande épopée hindoue Ramayana, dans laquelle il joue le rôle d’un filou et d’un joyeux aventurier. Né de l’union d’une princesse singe et de Vayu, dieu hindou du vent, il est un vanara – mi-dieu mi-singe. Il tient sa blancheur du langur, espèce de singe vivant au pied de l’Himalaya. On reconnaît le langur à son poil d’un blanc grisâtre et à son visage noir. Selon la mythologie indienne, Hanuman s’est brûlé les mains et le visage en tentant de libérer l’épouse du seigneur Rama, Sita, de l’emprise du roi démon Ravana.

Hanuman

Ramayana

Hanuman

Titre : Ramayana
Description : Victoire de Rama sur Ravana, le démon à dix têtes
Source : ©The Trustees of the British Museum

Nota : Cliquez sur la vignette pour faire apparaître une image à haute résolution.

Lien avec la collection

Nota : Les liens s'ouvriront dans d'autres fenêtres du navigateur.

Tenture murale

Tenture murale

ID*: T84.0072

Wall hanging

Tenture murale

ID*: T84.0040

Couvre-tête (kain kepala)

Couvre-tête (kain kepala)

ID*: T95.0041