How To 

What is Social Fabric?

Social Fabric is an online environment where visitors to the virtual and physical spaces of the Textile Museum of Canada can share stories, knowledge and questions related to textiles. Social Fabric users can upload photos, videos, audio recordings and text; they can also rate and comment on responses.

Who can use Social Fabric?

Anyone can use Social Fabric. It doesn’t matter whether you know a lot or a little about textiles. Teachers may want to use Social Fabric questions as assignments. Students can create and upload responses to the Web site.

How can I participate in Social Fabric?

You can participate in Social Fabric by rating and commenting on existing responses, or by submitting new responses. The most popular objects and responses will be put on display in an exhibition at the Textile Museum of Canada.

You can also participate by volunteering in person at the Textile Museum of Canada, where you will help choose new objects from the collection to include on the Social Fabric Web site. Check the Making Social Fabric box on the homepage regularly for updates on calls for volunteers.

How can I submit a response?

  1. Select a physical quality on the homepage. Choose one of the textiles associated with that physical quality. Then pick one of the two questions associated with that textile.
  2. Click on Add Yours in the responses menu.
  3. Fill in the appropriate fields. Name, Email Address, and Text are all required fields. You can use your real name or a pseudonym. Your email address will not display on the Web site. Use the Text field to share a written response, or to provide descriptions or information about pictures, audio recordings or videos.
  4. When you are ready to submit your response click the Submit Response button. Remember to review all fields before clicking this button. You will not be able to make changes to a response once it has been submitted.

Pictures

If you would like to include pictures in your response, click on the Select button under Add Pictures. Choose an image file from your computer or external storage media. The image file must be a JGP or GIF and not exceed 1MB You will be prompted to enter a title for each image you choose to upload but this is optional. You can also use the Text field to fill in information about your images. You may upload a maximum of seven images.

Audio

If you would like to include an audio recording in your response, click on the Select button under Add Audio. Choose an audio file from your computer or external storage media. The image file must be an mp3 and not exceed 10MB. You may fill in the Audio Title field if you wish to give your audio recording a title. The title will display in the audio player after you submit your response. You can also use the Text field to fill in information about your audio recording.

Video

If you would like to include a video in your response, you must have already uploaded that video to an existing or new YouTube account. Choose the video you want to share. Click the share button. Highlight the URL that displays and copy it into the YouTube URL field in Social Fabric. You may fill in the Video Title field if you wish to give your video a title. The title will display in the video player after you submit your response. You can also use the Text field to fill in information about your video.

Fill in the kaptcha field. Follow the instructions that tell you to type the characters you see in the picture. This is a security feature.

Who can I contact if I need help?

If you have questions, comments, or concerns, send an email to socialfabric@textilemuseum.ca.


Elements of this site may require Flash player 8

Comment? 

En quoi consiste le site Tissu social?

Le site Tissu social est un environnement en ligne où les visiteurs des espaces virtuels et matériels du Textile Museum of Canada peuvent mettre en commun des anecdotes, des connaissances et des questions au sujet des textiles. Vous pouvez y télécharger des images, des vidéos, des bandes sonores et des textes. Vous pouvez aussi réagir aux réponses fournies par d’autres visiteurs en les évaluant et en les commentant.

Qui peut utiliser le site Tissu social?

Le site est ouvert à tous, quel que soit le niveau des connaissances au sujet des textiles.

Les enseignants apprécieront les questions posées sur le site. Ils peuvent en faire des sujets de recherche pour leurs élèves et les élèves peuvent télécharger leurs réponses sur le site.

Comment puis-je intervenir sur le site Tissu social?

Vous pouvez contribuer à l’enrichissement du contenu en évaluant et en commentant les réponses reçues sur le site, ou en envoyant de nouvelles réponses. Les réponses et les objets les plus consultés seront présentés lors d’une exposition au Textile Museum of Canada.

Vous pouvez aussi nous aider en devenant bénévole au Textile Museum of Canada, où vous participerez à la sélection de nouveaux objets de la collection à intégrer au site Tissu social. Cochez la case « Fabrication du Tissu social », sur la page d’accueil, pour recevoir nos invitations à faire du bénévolat.

Comment puis-je envoyer une réponse?

 

  1. Sélectionnez une caractéristique physique à partir de la page d’accueil. Choisissez l’un des textiles associés à cette caractéristique physique. Optez pour l’une des deux questions posées pour ce textile.
  2. Cliquez sur Ajoutez votre réponse dans le menu des réponses.
  3. Remplissez les champs qui s’appliquent. Vous devez obligatoirement remplir les champs Nom, Courriel et Texte. Vous pouvez utiliser votre nom ou un pseudonyme. Votre courriel ne sera pas affiché sur le site Web. Utilisez le champ Texte pour taper et envoyer votre réponse, ou fournir des précisions au sujet d’images, d’une bande sonore ou d’une vidéo.

Images

Si vous souhaitez ajouter des images, cliquez sur le bouton « Choisissez » sous la rubrique « Ajoutez des images ». Choisissez un fichier image à partir de votre ordinateur ou d’un support externe. Ce fichier doit être présenté dans un format accepté : JPG ou GIF. Il ne doit pas dépasser 1MB. On vous invitera à fournir un titre pour chaque image que vous téléchargerez, mais cela n’est pas obligatoire. Servez-vous du champ Texte pour fournir des précisions au sujet de vos images. Vous pouvez télécharger jusqu’à sept images.

Bande sonore

Si vous souhaitez ajouter une bande sonore, cliquez sur le bouton « Choisissez » sous la rubrique « Ajoutez une bande sonore ». Choisissez un fichier audio à partir de votre ordinateur ou d’un support externe. Ce fichier doit être présenté dans un format MP3. Il ne doit pas dépasser 10MB. Vous pouvez remplir le champ Titre de la bande sonore. Le titre s’affichera sur le lecteur audio après l’envoi de votre réponse. Servez-vous du champ Texte pour fournir des précisions au sujet de votre bande sonore.

Vidéo

Si vous souhaitez ajouter une vidéo, vous devez d’abord télécharger celle-ci dans un compte YouTube que vous avez déjà ou que vous devez créer. Choisissez le fichier vidéo que vous désirez montrer. Cliquez sur le bouton « Partagez » (Share). Surlignez l’adresse URL qui apparaît et copiez-la dans le champ « Adresse URL-You Tube » du site Tissu social. Vous pouvez remplir le champ Titre de la vidéo. Le titre s’affichera sur le lecteur vidéo après l’envoi de votre réponse. Servez-vous du champ Texte pour fournir des précisions au sujet de votre vidéo.

Remplissez le champ Cryptage. Suivez les directives vous indiquant de taper les caractères que vous apercevez à l’écran. Il s’agit d’un dispositif de sécurité.

4. Quand vous serez prêt, cliquez sur le bouton Envoyez votre réponse. N’oubliez pas de vérifier d’abord tous les champs. Vous ne pourrez modifier votre réponse après l’avoir envoyée.

À qui puis-je m’adresser en cas de problème?

Pour toute question, préoccupation ou commentaire, n’hésitez pas à nous écrire à cette adresse : socialfabric@textilemuseum.ca


L'utilisation de Flash player 8 est parfois requise